Skip to main content
crops

Gukoresha Amazi-Ingufu n’umutekano w’ibiribwa nk’uburyo bwo guteza imbere ifatwa ry’ibyemezo birwanya imihindagurikire y’ibihe mu bice byatoranyijwe mu kibaya cy’Akagera

PROJECT SUMMARY: 
The goal of this project is to provide evidence-based policy guidance and promote local actions that promote climate resilience and participatory sustainable development along the Akagera Watershed. The project will assess the impact of different development trajectories in the Akagera Watershed on food, energy and water security and the environment; key elements within EDPRS 2. It will build grass-root community enterprises, as models for integrating key elements of the water, energy and food security nexus.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/127716409@N05/albums/72157668508816247


FONERWA WINDOW/S: 
Conservation and Sustainable Management of Natural Resources
KEY PROJECT OUTPUTS: 
1. Natural capital, risks and opportunities of development trajectories assesed in selected landscapes of Rutsiro, Ngororero, Bugesera and Kirehe Disticts along Kagera Basin
2. 2,000 Stakeholders representing different development sectors operating in Rutsiro/Ngororero, Bugesera and Kirehe Districts understand and share vision about future development pathways
3. Local climate resilient Nature Based Community Enterprises (NBCEs) developed and demonstrated for promoting sustainability in model community groups

PARTNER INSTITUTION/S: 
Stockholm Environment Institute (SEI)
Nile Equatorial Lakes Subsidiary Action Program (NELSAP)

PROJECT TEAM: 
Project Manager To be recruited (interim: Claudien Nsabagasani) cnsabagasani@arcosnetwork.org
Finance and Administration Manager Mrs Mukansoro Beatrice bmukansoro@arcosnetwork.org
Nature Based Community Enterprises Officer Michel Ndengera mndengera@arcosnetwork.org
Community Support Officers (x3) To be recruited (jointly with Districts) TBD
Communications and Information Officer (incl. M&E) Faustin Gashakamba fgashakamba@arcosnetwork.org
SUPERVISION AND TECHNICAL SUPPORT
Project Supervision Dr Sam Kanyamibwa skanyamibwa@arcosnetwork.org
Project Co-supervisor (SEI-Nexus- Water) Dr Louise Karlberg louise.karlberg@sei-international.org
Technical Advisor (SEI-Nexus- Energy) Dr Oliver Johnson oliver.johnson@sei-international.org